A Designer's Toolkit Banner

Discovering ‘My Toolkit’

I’ve read a few posts lately about ‘What’s in Your Toolkit?’ I honestly thought I knew what was in mine. As a graphic designer you instantly think your software and your hardware. This week I realised there is much more to it than that. There’s obviously your medium but the one that surprised me was masking tape.

It’s definitely something that I considered to be more at home in my Dad’s toolkit.  I didn’t realise how much I rely on it until I ran out this week.  It got me thinking about all the other essentials that I take for granted – until I either can’t find them or they have run out.

Toolkit - Tea, tape, Etsy pencil & craft knife.

Toolkit – Tea, tape, Etsy pencil & craft knife.

Luckily I have collected a lot of pencils from various places so breaking one won’t result in me turning my studio upside down looking for a sharpener.

The focus on sharing or knowing the contents of your toolkit has really made me realise that this is an area I need to work on. If I put them together in a toolbox (minus my computer and software of course) completing work will involve far less hunting and gathering and result in a more fluid workflow.

I’d love to hear if you have the same issues with hunting for tools, or if you were surprised by how much you rely on basic items to get your work finished……. be it caffeine, tape or music. What’s missing from your toolkit?

4 thoughts on “Discovering ‘My Toolkit’

  1. Victoria Sol says:

    Ooh, good post! 🙂

    The btnetsy team did a “show us your tools” thing a few months back and everyone seemed to smile or laugh when I put up a picture including Coffee. It’s an essential tool!!! 🙂

    I might do a blog post in response to this one, if that’s ok?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

